Soundless by Richelle Mead

Summary:

From Richelle Mead, the #1 internationally bestselling author of Vampire Academy and Bloodlines, comes a breathtaking new fantasy perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Laini Taylor and Sabaa Tahir.

“Fans of characters like Rose Hathaway and Sydney Sage will flock to this impressive stand-alone novel.”
Booklist

For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village, where rocky terrain and frequent avalanches prevent residents from self-sustaining. Fei and her people are at the mercy of a zipline that carries food up the treacherous cliffs from Beiguo, a mysterious faraway kingdom.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the people she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.

But soon Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon.

Richelle Mead takes readers on a triumphant journey from the peak of Fei’s jagged mountain village to the valley of Beiguo, where a startling truth and an unlikely romance will change her life forever….(https://books.google.com/books/about/Soundless.html?id=GDwWrgEACAAJ&hl=en)

Spoiler Free Review:

I loved the premise of this book. I am a hearing person that knows sign language, and it was fascinatingea6a38fc0ba708087b233a0fb4166128 to read a story about a society where everyone is deaf. There are thing that you don’t think about that have to be changed or done a different way simply because everyone around you can not hear.

Along the same lines, the way Mead describes Fei getting her hearing is very creative. How do you explain something to someone that has no experience with it. It reminded me of The Giver by Lois Lowery9780553571332, where all of the characters are color blind and the main character gets the ability to see color. Both of these characters have to learn the words to describe what they can now hear/see. 

I also loved the world the story was set in. It combined the traditional Asian traditions found in other books, with spectacular imagery. At points you could close your eyes and see yourself standing at the edge of Fei’s village, looking down the cliff side with her.

The characters were also developed well. Although Fei does have a romantic interest, it is not her main driving force throughout the journey. I liked how she could go through all the trials that she does, diven by something other than her love for this boy. It is rare that we get a story where the main character is smart, strong, and not boy-obsessed. It is a welcome change.

The writing is easy to follow and the book is short enough that I read it in under a week. It is a page-turner, you always want to know what happens next.

Although I did find the ending to come out of no where. That was the one problem I had with this book. The ending was good, don’t get me wrong, I just feel like there was no backing for it. Almost like Mead needed a way to resolve the conflict and she took the easy way out.

4 out of 5 stars.

What were your thoughts?

 

~Maddie

More Than This by Patrick Ness

Spoilers!!!!!!

Summary:

You see a boy drown. You see him wrapped in death. You see him wake up. This is the story of what he discovers.

Review:

I read this book in under a week and adored it! I could not put it down! I fell in love with all the characters, Tomasz most of all. I loved how witty he is, and how honest he is about the way he died.tumblr_n9udyxcQKt1rqquu7o1_500 I also liked that Seth being gay was portrayed in such a realistic, and honest way. It wasn’t glamorized, or made out to be something alien.

The writing itself was simple and easy to follow. It made reading it quickly very easy. I liked how you found out information as Seth did, it made the world seem more interesting and I did not expect it to turn out how it did. The opening scene is when we see Seth die, and it has to be the best death scene I have ever read. I can still close my eyes and picture Seth’s body being pummeled by the ocean.be122703aed42bfa574c416db5db7721 If you are on the fence about reading this book I suggest that you read the first couple of pages, you will be hooked.

The ending was frustrating though. The reader doesn’t get to see what becomes of Seth once he is shut back into his coffin. Personally, I believe that he was put back online and either died there, or never found his way back out.

I loved this book and plan on reading it again. I wouldn’t hesitate to read something else by Patrick Ness.

5 out of 5 stars!

Let me know how you thought it ended!

~Maddie

The Darkest Part of the Forest – Holly Black

Spoilers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Summary:

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black takes place in a small town surrounded by forests where magical creatures, like elves, live. There is a glass casket at the edge of the town where a boy with pointed ears sleeps. He hasn’t woken up in many, many years. One day he is found to be missing, and the story unwraps from there.

It follows siblings Ben and Hazel and their involvement in the mysterious boy’s waking.

Review:

Before I even picked up this book I knew there was what was described as a “huge twist” in the middle, so as I was reading it I was looking for the twist, and never really found one.

That being said I loved this book! I loved the way that love was portrayed throughout the story. The writing was simple and easy to follow, and the story was a page turner. The book also contained an epilogue that tied up all of the story lines, while leaving most of it up to the readers imagination. severin I loved how you could never quite get a read on what Severin was thinking, and how Hazel was motivated more out of her love for her brother, and romantic love. The writing threads in aspects of embarrassment, making the story seem more relatable. Both Ben and Hazel spilled their guts to the sleeping boy, never thinking that he could hear them, or wake. They both came to love him, in their own ways. It is like pining over a fictional character, and suddenly they are sitting across the room from you, and they have heard everything you have ever said to them. Embarrassing. It was interesting, and a light read, would highly recommend.

4.5 out of 5 stars. Easily.

I would definitely read something else by Holly Black.

 

~Maddie