Taking Medication 10/5/2016

I take two pills when I wake up, then two every four hours until I go to bed. Along with that I take up to ten salt pills a day, depending on what I am doing that day.

Taking all of these medications every day can get really boring, but it is only part of my treatment, so I try to make it as fun as possible.IMG_20161005_215204454.jpg

I got a small pill case that is decorative. It holds three doses, and has a clasp that keeps it closed. I use it when I have to take doses when I am out of the house. I have never been afraid, or cautious to take medication around people, the decorative case is more for me. It makes me want to take my medication with me, and most people focus more on the case rather than asking me about my medication. An added bonus is that sense I have been using the case more people assume that I have been taking medication for a while, and I personally think it catches people off guard when I just pull out pill bottles.

I try to make taking my medication as easy as possible. I found that I won’t take my meds because I either don’t want to get up, or interrupt what I am doing. To counteract this, I try and have my meds with me when all possible, or I have them easily accessible. That way it is not a large interruption when I have to take them.

I have to keep reminding myself that if I don’t take the meds I will feel sick, and that is never fun. There are some days when I feel like crap, and taking my medication does nothing to help. Those days are the hardest to get through. You can do everything perfectly, and still not feel better. I just have to trust that I will get through this, and keep a close eye on how I feel, knowing that if it gets too bad I need to go to the hospital.

As long as I can keep my head up and my pills down, it is a good day.

 

~Maddie

Leave a Reply

