Medical Alert Swag

This is why I wear a medical alert bracelet or necklace. Some people think that because POTS will not kill you, you don’t have to worry about wearing a medical alert bracelet. As far as I understand it, because I am on medication for my POTS, if I were to be given something that could interact with those medications it would cause a bad side effects.

What my medical alert things say:96c7ded75615b8889b6dcdf5373415b4

Dysautonomia

POTS

Beta Blocker

Give IV Fluids

(My mothers phone number)

I put dysautonomia as well as POTS for two main reasons. One being that because POTS isn’t widely known, an EMT may not know what it means, but most are familiar with the term dysautonomia. However, the main reason is that “postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome” wouldn’t fit on the jewelry that I wanted.

I decided to put beta blocker because, as I understand it, if I am found unconscious and EMT might give me something that could react with the beta blocker. I also feel safer with knowing that I don’t have to be conscious, or aware, in order to tell someone what medication that I am on.

I don’t know if putting “give IV fluids”, the EMT is more likely to give them, but it would be nice that if I fainted and was out of it, to wake up with an IV already in. No begging for fluids, and I was out of it for the needle prick!

I recommend putting someones phone number on your alert swag, that way if there are any questions that need to be answered they have a number to call. I do not live in the same state as my mother, but she knows the most about my POTS, and would be able to answer any questions that the medical staff, or just people in general, would have. I know I feel a lot safer knowing that if something bad were to happen my mother is always there to help me out (she also presented the diagnosis of POTS to the doctors to confirm. She’s pretty awesome).

I have a necklace and a bracelet that both have my medical alert information on them. I like having two options, because if I want to wear a necklace then I wear the bracelet, but mostly I wear the necklace for convenience.

When I told my boss that I had POTS I also told them that I always wear my medical alert information, and if I ever pass out and don’t come too, to call the number. I would rather have my mother assess the situation and tell them if I need to go to the hospital or not. Usually I come to right after I pass out, but sometimes it takes me a little while before I can hold a conversation, and again, it is nice having this safety net. Saying this, I feel, also put my boss at ease. It took most of the pressure off them.

I have never been in a situation that has warranted the use of the medical alert jewelry, but you can never be too prepared.

Information about POTS

Importance of wearing a medical ID

 

~Maddie

Leave a Reply

