Staying Motivated 9/26/2016

Staying motivated can be hard for anyone, not just those with a chronic illness. I have found it hard over the past week to keep my motivation up for school. I have found excuses to do something other than study, or work on homework. I have still gotten everything done, but it is not my best work.

Thankfully over the past couple of days I have been able to get out of that slump. It has helped a lot living with other people who are going through the same thing. I live with six other college students. We took one of the unused bedrooms in our house and turned it into a study room. So, when I have something to do, but no motivationkeep-calm-and-do-your-school-work-3 to do it I will just go sit in the room with them while they are working. I do not give myself a goal, and usually I start off by procrastinating, but eventually I find that I am working. Being around people who are being productive makes me want to do the same.

Another thing that helped is that I am really enjoying the book I am reading, Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas. I tell myself that I can read for a half hour after I work on school work for an hour. I learned that if I give myself time limits my work is better. I can write an essay in a half hour, but I am guaranteed to get a better grade if I take at least an hour to write it and then another hour to edit it. As long as I am working for the whole hour I am satisfied, then I reward myself with a half hour of reading time. I have found that I actually end of reading for less time, because my mind is still on my school work. So, I put the book down and get back to work having found my motivation.

I also work wherever I am. No one said that you are going to get a worse grade just because you wrote your essay on the couch instead of at a desk. My feet go numb if I am sitting at a desk for too long, so I end up getting most of my work done in bed or on the couch. As long as it is getting done and I am putting in the proper amount of time I try not to get down on myself too much for not being able to get up.

I work the way that works for me.

 

~Maddie

Leave a Reply

