Headache Days 8/30/2016

On Monday I woke up with a pretty bad headache. It wasn’t the worst one I’ve had and it didn’t cause me to be unable to keep food down, so I wasn’t going to skip class.

I knew I would probably have a headache because on Sunday I stayed up until 11 PM and was off my meds for the last two hours. That was not a smart decision on my part, but I was having fun with my friends. We were just sitting around playing video games, so I didn’t feel bad at the time, but like everything else it takes a tole on my body.

On Monday’s I have class from 9 to 11 in the mornings and then work from 4 to 7 in the evenings. Once I woke up and realized that the headache wasn’t going away, I drank and much water as I could and took two salt pills. People with POTS will commonly up their salt intake to counteract the drop in their blood pressure when they change positions. I knew that doing this wouldn’t make the headache go away, but I was trying to keep it from getting worse.

After my classes I ate as much as I could and then took a nap until work. After work I came back and went straight to bed again.

I had planned on showering and going to the gym, but my head would pound every time I sat up, so I picked my battles and decided to bag the gym and shower.

I finally chose my health over what I wanted to get done! Progress!

After resting for the majority of yesterday, I woke up today without a headache. I still try and take the day after bad headache days pretty slow, but I have a long day today so I guess we will see if it comes back. For now all I can do is chug water.

I was able to go to all of my classes, and made it through work without any major disasters. For me, that is a productive day.

 

~Maddie

Leave a Reply

